Dungeons and What? OGL?

It occurred to me that at present no one has control over my imagination. I intend to remain, physically and beyond the physical, where no one can control my imagination. So if I get together with some friends, and imagine adventures in a fantastical world, I need neither books, nor System Reference Documents, nor even Dice. The game Diceless Dungeons is a reminder of that fact. When I was a child I played Make-believe. In my adult life, I see the advantages that some kind of structure brings to that pursuit. It is helpful, but not required.

In the last several campaigns I ran, I didn’t need anything from the Dark Lord of Hasbro, even though i used the infamous Math Rocks associated with their gaming franchise. I made up powers, spells, and abilities as I went along. It was a less than perfect experience. But it was my experience. No license, no legal apparatus, no State can take it away from me. They can slay my flesh, but my imagination is mine, and it will always be so, even unto and beyond my death.

What I find uplifting about the current controversy is that folks by the hundreds of thousands are remembering that the imagination needs no branding, nor official rules, nor financial backing. Each and every one of us can create worlds filled with adventure and share them with our friends, acquaintances, and even our enemies. And there’s nothing anyone can do to stop it.

With love,

Abraham Gray

Leave a comment